The Observations and Obsessions of a Superego's Sidekick

Beyond Therapy

Lotus

I’m coming rapidly to the end of my therapy.  I was talking to a friend about it last week, she asked how I felt about it.   In the spirit of positive thinking I responded, that I was great and it didn’t bother me, but the reality is a bit different.  I’m scared, scared of retreating back inside me, with only my horrible critical self for company.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not admitting defeat, because I’m going to work very hard to stay positive and strong.  I’m on the usual drugs, antidepressants to lift the depression and anti-psychotics to stop me from getting too high and I’ve no doubt they’ve helped me considerably, but having someone to talk to about living with bipolar depression has been a god send and without the therapy I don’t believe I’d be anywhere near where I am now.

Therapy has given me the space to talk, cry, howl in pain, to strip my very being down to the basics and start rebuilding and accepting and really living.  It’s given me the tools that have allowed me to become once again, content, strong, independent and hopeful.  Recently I was asked to think about what makes me resilient, to write about it, I was excited at first but as I sat down to write, nothing came to mind.  I know I’ve developed great resilience but it was an unconscious enlightenment, I just was, I feel ready for anything right now.  But that isn’t enough, to have any hope of meeting depression head on the next time, I need awareness.  So I began journalliing, I forgot about an audience and wrote just for me.  What a powerful tool a journal is, to write as thoughts come to mind, no matter the order, as you release one thought another comes to mind and another.  What I’ve learnt is to be aware of all my thoughts, to challenge the negatives and challenge the critical thinking, don’t allow them to own you and never give power over yourself to any other human being.  Be your own master and let others be theirs. To own who I am and make no apologies, to love my own company and to allow that aloneness to energize and strengthen me, to find lots to laugh at and always be hopeful, nothing is insurmountable.  And finally hindsight, I’ve survived depression and suicidal thoughts, a few times now and I’ll do it again.  That’s what makes me strong right now, and right now is where I’m at.

But right now, I’m still in therapy…..

I’m not a fool, I’ve had several bouts of depression over the years, and I doubt this recent one will be my last.  If and when that time comes, will I be able to meet that challenge without my crutch, will I remember everything I’ve learnt or will I be doomed to repeat the cycle of pain and loneliness and descent down that dark and bottomless tunnel.  Journal, hindsight and challenging the thoughts.  Let it become my mantra.

When I first started writing this blog the superego in my byline was a very dear friend.  And yes he’s still a very dear friend and still capable of some amazing superego qualities (you’re smiling aren’t you, Exultatron).  I tended to live vicariously through him back then, to look to him for approval, he was the exciting to my questioning and doubting.  But as I’ve emerged that superego has slowly become me, the me I am right now, right this moment, the me I want to continue being, an exciting and wonderful future that is my doing.  I’ll still at times be that sidekick, because I’ll always continue to question, occasionally doubt, and maybe I’ll even hate me.  To ignore that possibility, is to put my head in the lion’s mouth, a dangerous folly. It is strange that this is my blog, my journey and yet I made myself invisible. Instead of being a participant in my own life, I became a watcher from the sidelines.

The observations and obsessions of a Superego’s sidekick.  I’ve come full circle, I’m the superego and occasional sidekick. I’m now an active player in my own destiny and this is my story.

Leave a Reply

