The Observations and Obsessions of a Superego's Sidekick

Second, third, or fourth time around? Books I never tire of.

I love reading, it’s been a passion of mine since childhood, and still for the same reason. I can escape to a different world and forget my own. I tend to stick rigidly to certain types of books. I love crime, mystery, historical, fantasy. I joined a book club sometime back with a view to sharing my love of reading with other like minded people, and that works well, but I forgot that with that goes, the reading of books I generally wouldn’t have considered before.

Occasionally I’ve come across books that introduced me to a new style, author or type, but more often than not I’ve had it confirmed time again that I’m not a modern chick lit girl, but in fairness I’ve introduced to others in the group, books I’ve loved, just to have them all wanting to throttle me. So fair is fair.

I have three books that I return to regularly. I go back to these because life may have been fairly trying, and I know these three will get me through, and help me to temporarily forget my troubles.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Why?

The Hobbit is magical and full of imagery, and a wonderful metaphor for life.

Bilbo Baggins, pushed out of his comfort zone,and excelling and surmounting every obstacle. The dragon, hobbits, elves and dwarves, I feel like I’ve come home

To Kill A Mockingbird is rich, humorous and warm, the ramblings of Scout Finch are a joy, her turn of phrase, insight, thoughts and familial descriptions memorable. I love this book and despite its violent and racial content, it’s wonderfully uplifting.

Pride and Prejudice is the closest I get to chick lit and enjoying it. I love the romance, rocky and uncertain, the humour and wit of Jane Austen is delicious, and I always love the ‘Mr. Bennet’ moments, so wonderfully reminiscent of my Dad’s humour and his teasing interaction with my mother, throughout my childhood.

Second, third or fourth time round. Try eighth, ninth, tenth or maybe more.

open-book-on-top-of-pile-of-books1 (1)

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

