The Observations and Obsessions of a Superego's Sidekick

Hello Is There Anyone Out There

We all have dreams, but then life happens and it has an uncanny knack of getting in the way. Responsibilities, deadlines, grief, and on and on. I’ve had a dream to write for as long as I can remember, but how and where to start. I couldn’t even write an interesting letter. I would get an interesting idea and pace around the garden and the thoughts and words would flow. And in a flurry of excitement I would race in and sit down to start typing and it was all gone or worse when I started typing it sounded wooden and forced.

Inspiration is the key, when you’re fired up and the passion is running, anything is possible. But my greatest inspiration came from outside of me. A dream shared in a chat with a friend led to encouragement, then nagging (in the nicest possible way), then this is where to go to get started. I figured if I didn’t just dive in, the next step was that I’d be dragged kicking and screaming to my computer. My greatest fan, my only fan, but how wonderful to have even one.

Moliere wrote:

“Writing is like prostitution, first you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for money.”

Woohoo, money, what a thought money for writing.

When fear grips and paralyses you it is so comforting to have the belief, confidence in and encouragement of even one person. Thanks to the greatest Superego on the planet, I couldn’t have done this without you, well I probably could of but it’s been so much more fun this way.

Someone pretty cool, once wrote:

“Oh what a terrible beauty is born.”

And I think maybe some other fellow named Yeats may have mentioned it also.

A dream begun!!!

Yep this is scary, but I never thought scary could be such a wonderful feeling. Here’s to many more frights.

3 responses

  1. Hey there

    If you want to write, one of the best things you can do is just put yourself in the seat and write. Write a lot. Write badly if you must, but write a lot, because the more you write (even badly) the better you get.

    That’s how I’ve been published in magazines. That’s how I’ve been paid for writing. That’s how I’ve completed and published a book, and am hard at play on a second.

    Just sit down.And write. Write a lot.

    If you want to learn more about yourself as a writer, one place to visit online is http://www.NaNoWriMo.org

    Hope that helps

    Catherine
    Foresight

    31/05/2011 at 16:07

    • Hey there,

      Thank you for your thoughts and advice. I really appreciate it. It was a wonderful heart pounding feeling pressing that publish button for the first time. It must be amazing to be making a living from something that you’re passionate about. Good luck with the new book.

      Gillian

      31/05/2011 at 21:36

      • You’re welcome

        Do I make a living from writing? Not yet. But I’m on my way…

        Catherine
        Foresight

        01/06/2011 at 15:47

Leave a Reply

